Government Plans to Shut Six Military Facilities
(Source: YLE Finnish Broadcasting Corp.; published Feb 8, 2012)
The government announced on Wednesday which defence bases will be shut down as part of a cost-saving plan.

Six facilities are to be closed down: bases in North Karelia, Kotka, Keuruu and Häme, as well as air force academies in Jämsä and Kauhava. Other units will be merged. Some of the closures will come next year, with others in 2014.

The president and government debated the issue on Wednesday morning. In a sign of last-minute controversy over the issue, the Ministry of Defence issued a statement on its website on Wednesday morning but then quickly withdrew it.

A press conference scheduled to begin at 9am was delayed by an hour.


prev next

Press releases See all

Breaking News from AFP See all

Official reports See all