Coalition Contributions to Countering the Islamic State
(Source: Congressional Research Service; issued August 24, 2016)
The Global Campaign to Counter the Islamic State

On September 10, 2014, President Obama announced the formation of a global coalition to “degrade and ultimately defeat” the Islamic State (IS, aka the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant, ISIL/ISIS or the Arabic acronym Da’esh). Subsequently, over 60 nations and partner organizations agreed to participate, contributing either military forces or resources (or both) to the campaign.

In Brussels in December 2014, 60 of these partners agreed to organize themselves along five “lines of effort,” (by contrast, the United States strategy involves nine lines of effort), with at least two countries in the lead for each:

 supporting military operations, capacity building, and training (led by the United States and Iraq);
 stopping the flow of foreign terrorist fighters (led by The Netherlands and Turkey);
 cutting off IS access to financing and funding (led by Italy, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and the United States);
 addressing associated humanitarian relief and crises (led by Germany and the United Arab Emirates); and
 exposing IS’ true nature (led by the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, and the United States).

According to the U.S. State Department, there are currently 66 participants in the coalition, including Afghanistan, Albania, the Arab League, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, the European Union, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Each country is contributing to the coalition in a manner commensurate with its national interests and comparative advantage. Contributions include both military and non-military assistance, although reporting on non-military contributions tends to be sporadic, as many countries donate humanitarian assistance directly to local governments or non-governmental organizations operating on the ground.

Still, some illustrative examples of the kinds of bilateral counter-IS assistance countries provided as the coalition was being formed in September 2014 include: Switzerland’s donation of $9 million in aid to Iraq, Belgium’s contribution of 13 tons of aid to Iraq generally, Italy’s contribution of $2.5 million worth of weaponry (including machine guns, rocket-propelled grenades, and 1 million rounds of ammunition), and Japan’s granting of $6 million in emergency aid to specifically help displaced people in Northern Iraq.

Click here for the full report (15 PDF pages) hosted by the Federation of American Scientists on its website.


prev next

Press releases See all

Breaking News from AFP See all

Official reports See all